The Skanda Purana is an ancient Hindu scripture that holds great significance in Hindu mythology and religious practices. It is one of the eighteen Mahapuranas, a genre of religious texts in Hinduism. Composed thousands of years ago, the Skanda Purana contains a vast collection of myths, legends, and teachings that are treasured by devotees of Lord Skanda, also known as Lord Murugan or Kartikeya.

What is written in Skanda Purana?

The Skanda Purana is divided into several sections, known as Khandas or books, each dedicated to different aspects of Hindu theology and spirituality. It consists of approximately 81,000 verses, making it one of the longest puranas in Hindu literature. The text covers a wide range of topics, including cosmology, philosophy, genealogy of deities, legends of various gods and goddesses, and rituals and practices.

Who is God in Skanda Purana?

The central figure in the Skanda Purana is Lord Skanda, the son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati. Lord Skanda is considered the Hindu god of war, victory, and wisdom. He is known for his bravery, valor, and intelligence. Devotees believe that chanting his name and offering prayers to him can bring protection, courage, and spiritual growth.

What is the story of Skanda?

The Skanda Purana narrates various stories related to Lord Skanda. One of the most famous stories revolves around his birth and upbringing. It tells the tale of six divine babies born from the divine sparks of Lord Shiva’s third eye. These babies were looked after and nurtured by the six Krittika stars, also known as Pleiades. Later, they were combined to form one child, Lord Skanda, who was destined to defeat the demon Tarakasura and restore peace and righteousness in the world.

How many books are there in Skanda Purana?

The Skanda Purana is divided into several books or Khandas, each with its own focus and content. The exact number of books can vary in different versions and interpretations, but it generally consists of around six books, namely:

  1. Maheshvara Khanda (or Suta Samhita)
  2. Vaishnava Khanda
  3. Brahma Khanda
  4. Kashi Khanda
  5. Avanti Khanda
  6. Nagara Khanda

Each book explores various aspects of Hindu mythology, legends, rituals, and spiritual practices, encompassing the vastness and depth of Hinduism.


The Skanda Purana is a significant scripture in Hinduism, revered for its rich mythology, teachings, and rituals associated with Lord Skanda. It provides devotees with spiritual guidance, knowledge, and inspiration, enabling them to deepen their understanding of Hindu philosophy and connect with the divine. The stories and teachings contained within the Skanda Purana continue to captivate and influence millions of people, making it an essential part of Hindu religious and cultural heritage.